Group Members

Our members are people with expertise from areas of computer science, artificial intelligence, mathematics, biology, and engineering, and students heading that way.

Academic staff

Prof Daniel Polani

Professor (Artificial Intelligence)

Prof Daniel Polani
Contact information

 LC255
 4380
 d.polani@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Principled Approaches to Artificial Intelligence, Robotics and Artificial Life; Origins of Intelligence and Life, Principles of Cognition, Evolution of Sensors and the Perception-Action Loop, Information-Theoretic Formalisms for Modeling Cognition; Complex Systems, Self-Organization and Emergence, Multi-Agent Systems, RoboCup

Prof Farshid Amirabdollahian

Professor (Human-Robot Interaction)

Prof Farshid Amirabdollahian
Contact information

 LC260
 3125
 f.amirabdollahian2@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Rehabilitation Robotics, Assistive Robotics, Technology to Support Ageing and Wellbeing, Safety of Robots, Ethical Robotics, Haptic Feedback, Physiological Sensing and Machine Learning, Agricultural robotics

Prof Kerstin Dautenhahn

Professor (Artificial Intelligence)

Prof Kerstin Dautenhahn
Contact information

 k.dautenhahn@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, Social learning, Robots in Therapy and Education, Socially Assistive Robotics, Socially Intelligent Agents

Prof Chrystopher L. Nehaniv

Professor (Mathematical and Evolutionary Computer Science)

Prof Chrystopher L. Nehaniv
Contact information

 c.l.nehaniv@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Evolvability, Mathematics for Computational & Theoretical Bology, Meaning for Observers & Agents Post-Reactive Systems

Dr Lola Cañamero

Reader (Adaptive Systems)

Dr Lola Cañamero
Contact information

 LC254
 4357
 l.canamero@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Affective Computing, Adaptive Intelligent Behavior, Artificial Autonomous Agents, Emotion Modeling, Motivated Behavior and Social Interactions

Dr Jan T Kim

Principal Lecturer (Artificial Intelligence)

Contact information

 LC257
 j.t.kim@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Artificial Life, Biological Information, Bioinformatics, Evolution, Genetics, Genomics, Gene Regulatory Networks, Morphogenesis, Biodiversity, Sustainability, Plant Sciences, Programming, Software Engineering

Dr Kheng Lee Koay

Senior Lecturer (Scientific Manager of Robot House)

Dr Kheng Lee Koay
Contact information

 LB204
 1026
 k.l.koay@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

human-robot interaction, social robotics, robotic home companions, agent migration and mobile robotics

Dr Michael Walters

Senior Lecturer (Undergraduate Robotics Subject Leader)

Dr Michael Walters
Contact information

 LC262
 4347
 m.l.walters@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, human factors, preferences and perceptions of robot appearance and social behaviour, Human-Robot Proxemics, experimental ethodology development, User Interface and API design and development. Fuzzy logic, genetic algorithm and neural network systems development, and sensor data fusion for robotics applications, Robotics for Education.

Dr Catherine Menon

Senior Lecturer

Dr Catherine Menon
Contact information

 LB214
 4319
 c.menon@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

safety-critical autonomous systems; assurance mechanisms for autonomous systems; safety, security and social credibility of companion robots

Dr Luke Wood

Lecturer (Undergraduate Artificial Intelligence and Robotics)

Contact information

 C255
 l.wood@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Social robotics, 3D printing, Human-Robot Interaction (HRI), Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Administration staff

Suzanne Wild

Assistant Administrator

Contact information

 C263
 1210
 s.wild@herts.ac.uk

Research staff

Dr Ben Robins

Senior Research Fellow

Dr Ben Robins
Contact information

 E115
 1150
 b.robins@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction (HRI) with specific interest in the application of robotic systems in rehabilitation, therapy and education; Autism therapy; Dance Movement Therapy

Dr Nicola Catenacci-Volpi

Research Fellow (Vice-Chancellor Fellow in Information Theory for AI and Robotics)

Dr Nicola Catenacci-Volpi
Contact information

 C114
 4766
 n.catenacci-volpi@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Planning, Decision-Making, Bounded Rationality, Intrinsic Motivation, Information Theory

Dr Frank Förster

Research Fellow

Dr Frank Förster
Contact information

 E114
 77594 (external: 01707 28 4000)
 f.foerster@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

HRI, language acquisition, pragmatics, spoken dialogue systems, human-centric AI

Dr Patrick Holthaus

Research Fellow (Robot House Manager)

Dr Patrick Holthaus
Contact information

 E114
 8583 (external: 01707 28 9383)
 p.holthaus@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Systems integration in heterogeneous environments, interaction architectures and behaviour coordination, social credibility of companion robots

Dr Gabriella Lakatos

Research Fellow (HRI Researcher - Kaspar project)

Contact information

 E114
 1032
 g.lakatos@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Human-Robot Interactions, Social and Assistive Robotics, Acceptable and believable robotic behaviour and interactions, Etho-Robotics

Dr Christoph Salge

Research Fellow (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Global Fellow)

Dr Christoph Salge
Contact information

 C114
 4490
 c.salge@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, AI in Games, Game AI, Artificial Life, Intrinsic Motivation

Dr Dari Trendafilov

Research Fellow

Andrei D. Robu

Senior Research Assistant

Andrei D. Robu
Contact information

 C114
 4766
 a.robu@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Information Theory in Artificial Life and Artificial Intelligence

Sílvia Moros

Research Assistant

Contact information

 E114
 77592
 s.moros@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

HRI, social robotics

Research students

Shadiya Alingal Meethal

Ph.D. Student

Shadiya Alingal Meethal
Contact information

 E122
 1341
 s.alingal-meethal@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Signal Processing, Machine learning, Robotic Rehabilitation

Mohammad Hossein Bamorovat Abadi

Ph.D. Student

Mohammad Hossein Bamorovat Abadi
Contact information

 E122
 4630
 m.bamorovat@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotic, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Computer Vision, Image Processing, Mobile Robot, Navigation, Vision Navigation, SLAM and Mechatronics.

Adeline Chanseau

Ph.D. Student

Adeline Chanseau
Contact information

 E114
 77593
 a.chanseau@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction, Social Robotics, User interaction, User Experience

Udeshika Dissanayake

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 2406
 u.dissanayake@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Rehabilitation robotics, EEG signal processing and machine learning

Luke Hickton

Ph.D. Student

Bente Reichardt

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 C114
 4490
 b.reichardt@herts.ac.uk

Alessandra Rossi

Ph.D. Student (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow)

Alessandra Rossi
Contact information

 E114
 77595
 a.rossi@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Human-robot Interaction

Marcus M. Scheunemann

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E114
 5113
 marcus@mms.ai
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Sudhir Sharma

Ph.D. Student

Grigorios Skaltsas

Ph.D. Student (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow)

Contact information

 E114
 1133
 g.skaltsas@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction, Social Robotics

Azeemsha Thacham-Poyil

Ph.D. Student

Karen Archer

M.Sc. Student

Marcus Clements

M.Sc. Student

Marcus Clements
Contact information

 C114
 mc@mxcog.com
 Personal Website

Research interests

Informational constraints of decision making and navigation

Rida Sardar

M.Sc. Student