Group Members

Our members are people with expertise from areas of computer science, artificial intelligence, mathematics, biology, and engineering, and students heading that way.

Academic staff

Prof Daniel Polani

Professor (Artificial Intelligence)

Prof Daniel Polani

Contact information

 LC255
 4380
 d.polani@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Principled Approaches to Artificial Intelligence, Robotics and Artificial Life; Origins of Intelligence and Life, Principles of Cognition, Evolution of Sensors and the Perception-Action Loop, Information-Theoretic Formalisms for Modeling Cognition; Complex Systems, Self-Organization and Emergence, Multi-Agent Systems, RoboCup

Prof Farshid Amirabdollahian

Professor (Human-Robot Interaction)

Prof Farshid Amirabdollahian

Contact information

 LC260
 3125
 f.amirabdollahian2@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Rehabilitation Robotics, Assistive Robotics, Technology to Support Ageing and Wellbeing, Safety of Robots, Ethical Robotics, Haptic Feedback, Physiological Sensing and Machine Learning, Agricultural Robotics, Robots for Education

Prof Kerstin Dautenhahn

Professor (Artificial Intelligence)

Prof Kerstin Dautenhahn

Contact information

 k.dautenhahn@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, Social learning, Robots in Therapy and Education, Socially Assistive Robotics, Socially Intelligent Agents

Prof Chrystopher L. Nehaniv

Professor (Mathematical and Evolutionary Computer Science)

Prof Chrystopher L. Nehaniv

Contact information

 c.l.nehaniv@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Evolvability, Mathematics for Computational & Theoretical Bology, Meaning for Observers & Agents Post-Reactive Systems

Dr Lola Cañamero

Honorary Visiting Professor (Adaptive Systems)

Dr Lola Cañamero

Research interests

Affective and social robotics, adaptive intelligent behavior, artificial autonomous agents, emotion modeling, motivated behavior and social interactions, minimal and embodied cognition and affect, developmental and epigenetic robotics, emotion development and attachment in robots, embodied computational psychiatry

Dr Jan T Kim

Principal Lecturer (Artificial Intelligence)

Contact information

 LC257
 j.t.kim@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Artificial Life, Biological Information, Bioinformatics, Evolution, Genetics, Genomics, Gene Regulatory Networks, Morphogenesis, Biodiversity, Sustainability, Plant Sciences, Programming, Software Engineering

Dr Catherine Menon

Principal Lecturer

Dr Catherine Menon

Contact information

 LB214
 4319
 c.menon@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

safety-critical autonomous systems; assurance mechanisms for autonomous systems; safety, security and social credibility of companion robots

Dr Frank Förster

Senior Lecturer

Dr Frank Förster

Contact information

 f.foerster@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

human-robot interaction, robotic language acquisition, pragmatics, spoken dialogue systems, human-centric AI

Dr Patrick Holthaus

Senior Research Fellow (Robot House Manager)

Dr Patrick Holthaus

Contact information

 E114
 8583 (external: 01707 28 9383)
 p.holthaus@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Systems integration in heterogeneous environments, interaction architectures and behaviour coordination, social credibility of companion robots

Dr Kheng Lee Koay

Senior Lecturer (Scientific Manager of Robot House)

Dr Kheng Lee Koay

Contact information

 LB204
 1026
 k.l.koay@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

human-robot interaction, social robotics, robotic home companions, agent migration and mobile robotics

Dr Ben Robins

Senior Research Fellow

Dr Ben Robins

Contact information

 E115
 1150
 b.robins@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction (HRI) with specific interest in the application of robotic systems in rehabilitation, therapy and education; Autism therapy; Dance Movement Therapy

Dr Christoph Salge

Senior Research Fellow

Dr Christoph Salge

Contact information

 C114
 4490
 c.salge@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, AI in Games, Game AI, Artificial Life, Intrinsic Motivation

Dr Michael Walters

Visiting Lecturer

Dr Michael Walters

Contact information

 LC262
 4347
 m.l.walters@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, human factors, preferences and perceptions of robot appearance and social behaviour, Human-Robot Proxemics, experimental ethodology development, User Interface and API design and development. Fuzzy logic, genetic algorithm and neural network systems development, and sensor data fusion for robotics applications, Robotics for Education.

Dr Luke Wood

Senior Lecturer (Artificial Intelligence and Robotics)

Dr Luke Wood

Contact information

 C255
 l.wood@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

3D printing, Human-Robot Interaction (HRI), Artificial Intelligence (AI), Rehabilitation Robotics, Robots in Therapy and Education, Assistive Robotics, Social Robotics.

Dr Gabriella Lakatos

Lecturer

Dr Gabriella Lakatos

Contact information

 E114
 1032
 g.lakatos@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Human-Robot Interactions, Social and Assistive Robotics, Acceptable and believable robotic behaviour and interactions, Etho-Robotics

Research staff

Dr Nicola Catenacci-Volpi

Research Fellow (Vice-Chancellor Fellow in Information Theory for AI and Robotics)

Dr Nicola Catenacci-Volpi

Contact information

 C114
 4766
 n.catenacci-volpi@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Planning, Decision-Making, Bounded Rationality, Intrinsic Motivation, Information Theory

Dr Matthew Lewis

Early Career Research Fellow (Autonomous Robots as Embodied Models of Mental Disorders)

Dr Matthew Lewis

Contact information

 E308
 4429
 m.lewis4@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

robot models of mental disorders, affective decision-making, autonomy in companion robots

Dr Alessandra Rossi

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Alessandra Rossi

Contact information

 E114
 a.rossi@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Human-robot Interaction, Social Robotics, Cognitive Architectures, Behavior-based Robotics, User Profiling and Recommendation, Multi-agent systems, RoboCup

Dr Marina Sarda Gou

Research Fellow

Dr Marina Sarda Gou

Contact information

 E122
 m.sarda-gou@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, social robots, humanoid robots, attitudes towards robots

Dr Marcus M. Scheunemann

Research Fellow

Dr Marcus M. Scheunemann

Contact information

 E114
 5113
 marcus@mms.ai
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Autonomous Behavior Generation in Robots, Artificial Intelligence, Human-Robot Interactions, Information-Theoretic Formalisms for Modeling Cognition, Robot and Human Social Cognition, Self-Organization and Emergence, RoboCup and Machine Learning

Dr Ataollah Ramezan Shirazi

KTP Associate

Contact information

 a.ramezan-shirazi@herts.ac.uk

Research students

Mubashir Ahmad

Ph.D. Student

Mubashir Ahmad

Contact information

 E122
 m.ahmad21@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Deep Learning, Attention Models, Computer vision, Medical Imaging, CNN, Object Detection, Image processing

Shadiya Alingal-Meethal

Ph.D. Student

Shadiya Alingal-Meethal

Contact information

 E122
 1341
 s.alingal-meethal@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Signal Processing, Machine learning, Robotic Rehabilitation

Stavros Anagnou

Ph.D. Student

Stavros Anagnou

Contact information

 s.anagnou@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

affect modelling, group dynamics, evolution of affect and culture, social hormones, artificial life, agent-based modelling, consciousness/cognitive science

Karen Archer

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 C118
 4490
 ka16abr@herts.ac.uk

Mohammad Hossein Bamorovat Abadi

Ph.D. Student

Mohammad Hossein Bamorovat Abadi

Contact information

 E122
 4630
 m.bamorovat@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotic, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Computer Vision, Image Processing, Mobile Robot, Navigation, Vision Navigation, SLAM and Mechatronics.

Hippolyte Charvin

Ph.D. Student

Hippolyte Charvin

Contact information

 h.charvin@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Principles of Cognition, Sensorimotor Contingencies, Information Theory, Dynamical systems

Luke Hickton

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E308
 l.hickton2@herts.ac.uk

Imran Khan

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E308
 i.khan9@herts.ac.uk

Andrew Marunchak

Ph.D. Student (Senior E-Learning Technology Developer (LTIC))

Andrew Marunchak

Contact information

 Z203 (MacLaurin Building)
 4536
 a.marunchak@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Virtual & Augmented Reality interfaces, XR-mediated semiotics and abstraction, VR interventions for facilitating prosocial interactions among HE students

Bente Reichardt

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 C114
 4490
 b.reichardt@herts.ac.uk

Lewis Riches

Ph.D. Student

Lewis Riches

Contact information

 E114
 l.riches@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Robotics, Human-Robot interaction, Companion robotics, Social robotics, Planning

Andrei D. Robu

Ph.D. Student

Andrei D. Robu

Contact information

 C114
 4766
 a.robu@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Information Theory in Artificial Life and Artificial Intelligence

Mohamad Reza Shahabian Alashti

Ph.D. Student

Mohamad Reza Shahabian Alashti

Contact information

 E122
 m.r.shahabian@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Mechatronics, Human-Robot Interaction, Machine Learning, Deep learning, Machine Vision, RoboCup

Grigorios Skaltsas

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E114
 1133
 g.skaltsas@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics research (HRI) using care-o-bot 3.x, "sunflower" robot, Pepper (SoftBank), ROS, python, C/C++, TensorFlow, User modeling and stress detection using: eye-tracking, galvanic skin response (GSR), accelerometers, gyroscopes, heart rate.

Vignesh Velmurugan

Ph.D. Student

Vignesh Velmurugan

Contact information

 E122
 v.velmurugan@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Rehabilitation robotics, Motor learning, Design for robotics, Aerial robotics

Marcus Clements

M.Sc. Student

Marcus Clements

Contact information

 C114
 mc@mxcog.com
 Personal Website

Research interests

Informational constraints of decision making and navigation

Alumni

Dr Rene te Boekhorst
Dr Udeshika Dissanayake 
Dr Radhika Gudipati 
Sílvia Moros 
Dr Lars Olsson
Dr Joe Saunders 
Dr Sudhir Sharma 
Dr Dag Sverre Syrdal 
Dr Azeemsha Thacham-Poyil 
Dr Dari Trendafilov 

The alumni section is a work in progress list and therefore incomplete that includes, at this stage, only a selection of alumni. If you feel that you should be on this list or want to suggest an update, please send us an e-mail.